Skip to content

Beach, Boro District 23 Wrestling Preview

February 22, 2013

The Point Beach and Point Boro wrestling teams will be competing in the District 23 tournament on Saturday at Brick Memorial High School.

Also competing in the District 23 tournament is Asbury Park, Brick Memorial, Brick Township, Manasquan, Monmouth Regional, Neptune, Shore Regional, St. Rose and Wall.


Point Beach has 30 district champions in school history and no team titles. The team returns one District 23 finalist in Tray Watkins and a third-place finisher in Riley Kelly.

The Beach wrestling team went 20-5 this year. They won the B-Central Championship for a third consecutive season and 17th time overall. The Garnet Gulls also qualified for the Central Jersey Group I state tournament for a third straight year and the Shore Conference Tournament. They repeated as Holmdel Tournament Champions back in December.

The Gulls had seven wrestlers eclipse the 20-win mark. John Finnerty, a freshman 106 pounder, recently picked up his 27th win to put him at 27-4 on the year. Finnerty now holds the freshman record for wins in a season. He passed a former Beach standout Matt Rega, who had 26 wins. This weekend, the Gulls should have several top 5 seeds throughout the lineup.

Gulls Lineup

106 – John Finnerty
113 – Giancarlo Crivelli
120 – Tray Watkins
126 – Tore Capriglione
132 – James Finnerty
138 – Zack Schaller
145 – Riley Kelly
152 – Cory Gross
160 – Bobby Parlow
170 – Jake Fioretti
182 – Bronson Ligouri
195 – Forrest Gardner
220 – Timmy Morris
Hwt- Tommy D’Amore



Point Boro returns two District 23 winners in senior Ryan Harter, who also won as a sophomore in 2011, along with Dan Nobbs. Both went on to compete in the region six tournament, where Nobbs placed second to advance to the state finals, held at Boardwalk Hall in Atlantic City. Nobbs has 57-7 career record. Harter has been one win away from reaching the state finals the past two seasons. He has 103 career wins.

Point Boro has won four district team titles but not one since 1991. The Panthers have 84 individual champions in school history. If the Panthers can come home this year with a district champion it will be their 17th consecutive year with at least one title winner.

The big question mark will be how Harter performs in the 132-pound weight class. Last season, he competed in the 113-pound weight class. As a sophomore he compet- ed in the 103-pound weight class.

Other  District 23 returning champions from outside Point Beach and Point Boro include Joe Ghione [Brick Memorial], Karl Waldron [Neptune], Alec Donovan [Brick Memorial], Cliff Ruggiero [Brick Memorial], Nick Costa [Brick Memorial], Dan Wojtaszek [Brick Memorial], Dae’Sean Brown [Neptune], Matt Moore [Brick Memorial], John Seidle [Neptune] and Domingo Perez [Asbury Park].

Panthers Lineup
106- Blake Dale
113- Darrin Perrotta
120- Dan Nobbs
126- Ryan Budzek
132 Senior Ryan Harter
138 Senior Andrew Moslowitz
145- Avery Brecka
152- Jacob Alcantara
160- Kevin Kelly
170- Jack Cawley
182- Matt Hornish
195- Nick Dzuna
220- Dominic Infante
Hwt- Matt Gliddon
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: