Skip to content

Welcome to The Ocean Star sports blog!

January 27, 2011

Hi!

My name is Greg Domorski and I have been writing for The Ocean Star since July 2010. I also write for the Yahoo Sports and belong to Associated Press Sports Editors, United States Basketball Writers of America, Football Writers Association of America, New Jersey Press Association, National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association and Metropolitan New York Football Writers Association.

Prior to my writing career I worked as a summer analyst at Merrill Lynch. I also received a Bachelor of Arts in History from Clemson University in 2009.

If you see me at any of the Point Pleasant Beach or Point Pleasant Borough High School sporting events, I would love to speak with you.  I enjoy talking about sports with anybody and enjoy hearing feedback about my section.

Thanks for visiting The Ocean Star sports blog!  If you have any questions or concerns please email me at gdomorski@theoceanstar.com. I can also be reached at 732-899-7606 Ext. 15.

Thanks

-Greg

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike Loughran permalink
    March 10, 2011 9:58 pm

    Greg,

    Terrific job covering local sports. I`m a big fan of Point Beach athletics and a few of your columns caught my attention. Regarding the issue of Beach and Boro not competing in any sports……I agree with you that this should end and that the Panthers and Gulls should go at it in every sport,both boys and girls. The community spirit and high intensity of past wrestling matches and football games are experiences that those who participated and those who witnessed will take with them forever. Present and future Gulls and Panthers should be given the opportunity to have those same experiences. Will the Boro win most of the contests? Probably, but the ones the Beach wins will be the most memorable and talked about for years to come.
    I also agree with you regarding the seeding for the state basketball tournament. The NJSIAA needs to get off its fat ass and seed that tournament properly so that teams like Point Beach are not thrown into the bracket as a 9 seed because they decided to play a tough schedule. All other major sports are seeded according to a set formula using a power point system and there is no reason the same should not be done for basketball.
    Keep up the good work and I look forward to reading more of your stories.

  2. March 25, 2011 2:32 pm

    Hi Mike,

    Thank you for the kind words and for following the blog. The Point Boro and Point Beach athletic ban does not make any sense along with the NJSIAA basketball seeding process. Hopefully this will change in the future.

    Thanks again for your post,
    -Greg

Leave a Reply

